Leonard Bernstein wrote Serenade (after Plato’s Symposium) in 1954. It is in five parts called movements (a movement in music is like a chapter in a book). They are:

  1. Phaedrus:Pausanias
  2. Aristophanes
  3. Eryxymachus
  4. Agathon
  5. Socrates: Alcibiades

Imagine a lively dinner party where one person starts a conversation and others pick up on the idea and it gets discussed, dissected, expanded, joked about, reflected on, etc… Now imagine that instead of words, the idea is in notes. This is the structure of the Serenade. Each movement uses musical ideas from the previous movement and takes them to a new place, just like a conversation going around the dinner table.